The Chinese University of Hong Kong

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) is a bilingual (Chinese and English) and bicultural institution of higher learning founded in 1963.

Areas of Study

Graduate School
7th Floor, Yasumoto International Academic Park,
The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shatin, NT,
Hong Kong SAR, The People's Republic of China

+ (852) 3943 8976 / 3943 8977

+ (852) 2603 5779




Who We Are

The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) is a bilingual (Chinese and English) and bicultural institution of higher learning founded in 1963. As a first-class comprehensive research university with both a local and an international outlook, we aim at cultivating quality higher degree graduates to serve the increasingly sophisticated needs of the society and making contributions to the pool of human knowledge through research. Our current enrolment of postgraduate students exceeds 13,000 and includes a substantial portion of non-local students from around the world.

The University’s stunning campus commands panoramic views of the Tolo Harbour and the mountain ranges nearby. With a size of 137.3 hectare it is the largest in Hong Kong.Nestled among the greenery our University buildings feature an innovative mix of Chinese and Western architectural styles.

Postgraduate Studies at CUHK

In response to academic and societal needs, the CUHK Graduate School offers postgraduate degree, postgraduate diploma, and postgraduate certificate programmes in a broad range of academic subject areas. To accommodate the diverse needs of students, these programmes operate with different periods and modes of study. At the same time, we hold fast to our fundamental goal of aiming for excellence in our intellectual pursuits. We strive to achieve high programme quality through our distinguished and very international faculty and experienced administrative staff.

During the academic year 2016-17 we offer through 59 Divisions a total of 251 programmes leading to higher degrees, postgraduate diplomas and certificates.

Application Procedure and Fee

Applications to join any of our postgraduate programmes have to be submitted via the Internet ( For application deadlines please refer to our website ( is a non-refundable application fee which for most programmes is HK$300.

Research at CUHK

CUHK offers a wide range of research programmes in different subject areas and encourages all academic staff to undertake consultancy and collaborative projects with the industry. Research activities cover dimensions to encompass all subjects that are offered at CUHK, to integrate staff research with teaching, and to range from upstream research to midstream development.

CUHK strives to establish at least ten areas of research excellence of national, regional and international significance, including infectious diseases, novel functional molecules, traditional Chinese medicine, and human and plant genomics. The University is also determined to broaden its research capacity through investments in other areas such as biomedical engineering, computer-assisted medicine and language development.

Five Focused Areas of Research

In the CUHK Strategic Plan 2006 five areas have been identified as key areas for strategic research investment. Substantial resources are being devoted to these areas. The five key areas are:

  • Biomedical Sciences
  • Chinese Studies
  • Economics and Finance
  • Geoinformation and Earth Sciences
  • Information Sciences
Areas of Excellence Projects

The University Grants Committee provides preferential grant funding to local tertiary institutions to conduct research in fifteen selected Areas of Excellence (AoEs). Seven of these AoEs are led by researchers from the Chinese University of Hong Kong:

  • Organelle Biogenesis and Function
  • Plant and Agricultural Biotechnology
  • Chinese Medicine Research and Further Development
  • Research into Circulating Fetal Nucleic Acids
  • Historical Anthropology of Chinese Society
  • Information Technology
  • Network Coding
Research Excellence

The University is committed to research excellence. Our academic staff members are research-active and benchmark their research using international standards. The University has four faculty members who are Nobel Laureates. Professor Sir Charles Kao, Nobel Laureate in Physics who is also one of the University’s former Vice-Chancellors, Professor Yang Chen Ning, Nobel Laureate in Physics, Professor Sir James Mirrlees and Professor Robert Mundell, both Nobel Laureates in Economics.

By 2015, there are a total of 164 academic honourees and awardees from our University.


HK PhD Fellowship Scheme

Postgraduate Prospectus & Leaflet

Postgraduate Studies Leaflet:

Research Programmes:

Taught Programmes:

Promotional Video


© 2018 GTI Media Asia