Yayasan Sime Darby Special Needs Bursary

About Yayasan Sime Darby Special Needs Bursary

Yayasan Sime Darby invites qualified students who are in their first year of studies and students who will commence their Diploma or Undergraduate programmes in September 2019 to apply for this programme.

This Special Needs programme focuses on providing scholarships to promising students with disabilities (OKU) to experience the best learning opportunities and educational facilities at recognised institutions in Malaysia.

YSD believes that financial limitations should not hinder anyone from reaching their academic goals. Hence, this programme enables YSD to recognise and maximise the potential of disabled students who are academically excellent.

Eligibility and Minimum Requirement

Applicant for this programme must fulfill the following requirements:

  1. Malaysian; 
  2. Aged 25 years or below; 
  3. Student with physical disabilities (OKU card holder); 
  4. Obtained minimum (5) five credits in SPM for Diploma applicants;
  5. STPM/Pre-University/Foundation/Local Matriculation/Diploma (minimum CGPA of at least 2.50) for Undergraduate applicants. 

Important note: Interested candidates who are in their first year (semester 1 & semester 2) at top local universities are encouraged to apply.

Accepted Fields of Study and Universities

The bursary is open to individuals pursuing any fields of study in any recognised academic institution in Malaysia EXCEPT for:

  • Medicine
  • Allied health sciences 

The bursary is open to any recognised academic institution in Malaysia.

Value Of Scholarship

This bursary award covers tuition fees, living and book allowances up to a maximum amount of RM25,000 per year.

Note: The scholarship will only cover expenses incurred after the award to recipients (i.e. upon execution of the scholarship agreement).

Service Bond Period

The bursary recipient is not bonded with any of the three Sime Darby Companies as you are not required to serve the Company.

Bursary Application

Applications open on 1 March 2019 and close on 31 March 2019.